ECE 2017 Pre-Congress Thyroid Ultrasound Course

Course Summary:
This course provides a review of the latest advances in thyroid ultrasound techniques delivered through presentations, interactive discussions and practical sessions working with thyroid patients.

Date & Time:
20 May 2017
09:00 - 17:00

Recommended for:
This course will be of interest to practicing endocrine clinicians with an interest in the thyroid.

Delegate fee:
The fee to attend this course is €275. Registration for this course will be available shortly when you register for ECE 2017. If you have already registered for the ECE prior to registration for the Thyroid Ultrasound Course being available, then you will be able to register for this course for the supplementary fee through your ECE 2017 congress account. To register for ECE 2017 please click here

You must register for this event through your ECE 2017 registration. To register for ECE 2017 please follow this link.

Additional Information:
CME accredits are being sought for this course.

For futher information please contact the ECE 2017 Congress Secretariat on

Focus Areas
The content of the event fits within the ESE Focus Area of Thyroid. For further details of ESE Focus Areas please click here.

Thyroid ultrasound course

9:00 Registration
9:30 – 9:40 Welcome - Fernando Rodrigues (Coimbra-Portugal)

1. Thyroid ultrasound

9:40 – 10:30

Thyroid ultrasound – basics and reporting system 
Luis Raposo (Lisboa – Potugal)

10:30 – 11:00 Ultrasonography of autoimmune thyroid disease
Maria João Oliveira (Porto – Portugal)
11:00 – 11:30 Ultrasonography of nodular thyroid disease
Murat Erdogan (Turkey)
11:30 – 12:00

Coffee break

12:00 – 12:30 Lymph nodes – malignant versus reactive – how to find the,
Paolo Vitti (Pisa – Italy)

2. Ultrasound-assisted procedures

 Enrico Papini  (Rome – Italy)
12:30 – 13:30 Ultrasound guided nodular FNA
  Ultrasound guided therapy for thyroid nodules
13:30 – 14:30 Lunch

3. Hands on thyroid US
14:30 – 17:00

  Practical session

Cristina Ribeiro (Coimbra – Portugal)
Sandra Paiva (Coimbra – Portugal)
Ana Paula Marques (Porto – Portugal)
Cláudia Freitas (Porto – Portugal)
Luis Raposo (Lisboa – Portugal)
Maria João Oliveira (Porto – Portugal)